Get Your Tickets to the Big Show!

By April 18, 2012 Award Updates

2012 Gold Star Teachers Announced

Black Hawk County Educators Awarded for Outstanding Teaching

WATERLOO, Iowa (April 17, 2012) – The area’s highest honor in education has been announced – awarding the 2012 Gold Star Award for Outstanding Teaching to area educators. Of the more than 1700 nominations, 10 Black Hawk County educators have been selected for their excellence in teaching.

Laura Angove                         Talented and Gifted, Art                                         Hudson Community School

June Bahnsen                         Spanish Teacher                                                                        East High School

Shelly Bromwich                    Preschool Teacher                                                         Malcolm Price Lab School

Cheri Grell                               Social Studies Teacher                                                        Hoover Middle School

Kay Konrardy                          Health/Physical Education                                      Blessed Sacrament School

Carmen Nimmo                     English Teacher                                                                       Bunger Middle School

Shelley Schlatter                    Kindergarten Teacher                                            Southdale Elementary School

Mike Schmidt                          Mathematics Teacher                                                               Union Middle School

Kenton Swartley                   Physics Teacher                                                                    Cedar Falls High School

Kim Vandendreissche           Kindergarten Teacher                                                   St. Patrick Catholic School

The program’s mission is to honor and encourage excellence in teaching and inspire outstanding teachers to continue in the profession. For their achievements, recipients will be recognized at an elaborate awards ceremony and awarded $1,000 in prize money.

The 2012 Gold Star Awards Ceremony will be held on Monday, May 21 from 7:00 – 8:00 pm at the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center on UNI’s Campus.  The event will honor the 10 Gold Star Award recipients, past Gold Star recipients and ALL teachers in Black Hawk County.  Tickets can be printed online by clicking on GS Tickets.  Admission is free, but you will be asked to show a ticket at the door.